Sleepless

eye-1091768__340

If we spend roughly 1/3 of our lives sleeping, how much could I get done if I had that time to myself? Every mother I know wonders this as she watches the mess of daily living overtake her each day. In D.C. Pierson’s novel, “The Boy Who Couldn’t Sleep and Never Had To” Eric doesn’t need to sleep… yet he isn’t the main character. The main character doesn’t even have a name for several pages but I didn’t care.

“In my experience, a pretty girl never sees you drawing and goes “You’re an amazing artist.” In my experience a pretty girl sees you drawing and, if she says anything at all, she goes, “Wow, you’re a really good drawer.” Not drawer like where you put socks, but draw-er. Guys who are good at basketball are not described as excellent throwers, and dudes who are good at guitar are not called really good strummers, but somehow I’m a really good draw-er. “

I laughed through most chapters. The internal monologue of the main character is so normal and comical and candid. It all felt so real! I was so connected to the main character, even his jerk brother was a perfect representation of teenage boys I remember from high school.

http://www.penguinrandomhouse.com/books/131161/the-boy-who-couldnt-sleep-and-never-had-to-by-dc-pierson/9780307474612/
Source: Penguin Random House

The doodles on the cover at first are a treat, something to bring the characters to life, but as the story progresses they become an integral part of the experience.

I can’t tell you much more about this book without ruining it. Although, I’d love to see this movie or TV series. Someone out there, probably D.C. Pierson himself, needs to write the screenplay.

Leave a comment