Vacations From Hell, Book Review

This is one of those times that I started reading a book and got that familiar tingle in the front of my brain…

Strange_look

Yep. I’ve read this before. (However, this is a collection of short stories and I hadn’t read them all!) There are five stories in all by various popular YA authors:

Libba Bray: “Nowhere is Safe”

A well-told creepy story that takes place in a tiny village in Eastern Europe. A play on superstition and historical fact. Has some stronger language in it. I was okay with it but take caution if that is something that concerns you… If you’re reader is like me and reading “Cujo” before bed, you’re probably not gonna mind.

8/10

Cassandra Clare: “The Mirror House”

A decent quick story of a newly merged family and some awkward teen love meshed with an abusive new step-father and witchcraft. I can’t say that I didn’t like this story, but I would have liked it to be longer.

7/10

Claudia Gray: “I Don’t Like Your Girlfriend”

Witches and beaches and a Type A teen. I could read this as a full length book even if it is a bit familiar.

7/10

Maureen Johnson: “The Law of Suspects”

Seemed a bit… campy? Like campfire campy. It started off well but then just spiraled down to Girl Scout level.

5/10

Sarah Mlynowski: “Cruisin'”

I’m still on the fence about this one since it is the story I read twice. I can’t tell if it was predictable because I had read last year, or because the story was just meh. Either way, the twist isn’t that twisty but I’m glad it wasn’t really about losing your virginity on a cruise ship.

5/10

are-you-afraid-of-the-dark-gif

I always wanted to do that…

My BFF from 3rd grade and I looooooved scary stories. There was one about a man whose wife wore a red ribbon around her neck that really gave me nightmares and don’t get me started on Bloody Mary. This would be a great book to give to your niece for her birthday, especially if she likes scary stories and love. I will also be checking out these authors other works.

Have you read this book?

Did you ever tell scary stories to your friends?

Leave a Reply

