Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth #3), Book Review

410pm3IxZYL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_As promised, I read “Blood of the Fold” by Terry Goodkind. I have to say this has been my favorite of the series thus far. It was shorter but the story didn’t fall flat or feel truncated. If anything, it was a fast-moving and harrowing tale told from at least three perspectives that kept me interested from start to finish.

images (2)

Aw, Richard, you always keep me interested.

With the Richard as the new Rahl, the threat of the Keeper has been put down so a new enemy must rise. That enemy is creepy as hell. Emperor Jagang is a pierced and cruel man who walks in dreams, driving his victims insane and torturing them in the privacy of their minds. You know he’s a bad dude if the Sisters of the Dark are afraid of him. Kahlan has a death spell over her, cast by Zedd for her own protection, and is on the run with her half-sister Queen of Galea. Prelate Annalina in dead and five Sisters of the Dark are on the run, but Sister Verna must detect those still among the Palace of the Prophets.

I have such a hard time picturing all these Sisters: Sister Ulicia, Sister Merissa, Sister Janet. I don’t know about you, but when I hear “Sisters of the Light” or “Sisters of the Dark”, I think of sweet nuns in habits, not sexy women who seduce young men at every turn.

My only disappointment in this book was (Spoiler Alert!) the loss of the mrswith cape and the very built up but barely used Sliph. How wonderful would it be to have a cape that renders you invisible (*wink wink* JKR) or a fast travel ability. (Such are the wishes of man.) And sometimes, I think Richard’s gift makes things a little too easy on him. I wanted his journey to the Sliph to be more fraught with danger, more puzzles that he had to figure out, but instead he just told his bodyguard, “Step on just these tiles” or “Don’t touch the walls” and that was it. What’s the point of going into a dungeon if you don’t have to figure anything out along the way?

I will be looking out for the fourth in the series, “Temple of the Winds” when I go to the library next. Which should be any minute now…

Leave a Reply

