Browned Butter Garlic Pasta

You don’t need to buy a bunch of fancy ingredients to have yummy pasta. My favorite home-made goodness revolves around two major ingredients:

Butter. Garlic.

Martha Stewart’s cooking show taught me how to brown butter, but not burn it, and I have been grateful ever since. There is just something so delicious about those salty bits that look like coffee grounds. Add garlic and you’ve got a dynamite base for a spicy marinara, white wine, or just leave it as is!

So here’s the deets…

butter

Start with a hot pan and 2 tablespoons of butter. (4 if you plan to feed more than 3 people.) Melt it down completely.

grater

This is my favorite kitchen tool right now, don’y pay attetion to the tomato goop on the counter! It is a cheap hand grater that I use because I couldn’t find a fancy microplane. It works wonders for me! I save so much time on mincing garlic or grating ginger. Fresh garlic is one of my most used ingredients, almost every recipe gets a clove or two. I may be smelly but at least my heart is healthy and vampires like Edward will leave me alone.

garlic

Grate garlic into the pan or mince and toss in with the melted butter.

Here is the hardest part: You must wait. This is a good time to throw your pasta in the boiling water or to wash a sinkful of dishes (if you’re so inclined). Let the butter foam and the garlic sizzle. Your kitchen will smell amazing but it isn’t done yet.

Stir or shimmy the pan if you’d like but keep it on the heat. When the garlic turns brown and the butter looks like it has coffee grounds in the bottom, you’re ready.

pasta

Put your pasta in a bowl (or plate) and pour your butter sauce on top. I threw some green onion and parmesan cheese on top and voila! Your pasta is ready to be gobbled up.

If you need more excitement on your plate, you can add a teaspoon of tomato paste or 1/4-1/2 cup of crushed tomatoes with some basil and oregano for a marinara-ish sauce. Or you could pour a little white wine in there for a more complex butter sauce. My husband adds crushed red pepper for heat, but I prefer it just like this.

Salty. Garlicky. Buttery.

Leave a Reply

