Sour Cream & Onion Chicken Salad

Do you make your chicken salad from scratch? (Not something you’re going to be asked every day, but certainly a pertinent question if you’ve found yourself here.)

I do!

I always used to pick up a couple cans of chicken (they look like tuna cans), plop some mayo, salt & pepper and dill relish in there and call it done. It’s great that way but I was looking for something new. I found this recipe on 100 Days and modified it a little bit.

file000768627809

Sour Cream & Onion Chicken Salad

100DaysofRealFood Recipe, adjusted for me

Ingredients

Chicken breasts/thighs

Sour Cream

Green Onion

Salt & Pepper

Boil/roast/fry two chicken breasts or about four thighs. I chose to boil them since I was making this lunch ahead of time while cooking dinner. When done, trim off the fatty bits (ew) and coarse chop.

Add in roughly 3 tbsp of sour cream. You may need more or less depending on the size of your chicken and your palate, but don’t be afraid to use a bunch. Make it creamy!

Chop one large or a few small green onions and toss them in. The sour cream really mellows them out so don’t skip them.

Salt & Pepper to taste

Stir and set in fridge for 30 minutes or so to let the flavors meld.

I really thought I would miss the mayo but I can tell you this is so yummy you won’t ever go back to using it. (At least I won’t.) I love the bite of green onion and the creamy sour cream base. The only thing that might make this tastier is a little garlic powder or celery salt… or if you ask my husband, red pepper flake. But we won’t ask him. Just make it your own!

Leave a Reply

