Pride & Prejudice

I know, I know… I’ve been on a classics kick. I didn’t read most of these books in high school since my curriculum aimed more towards thought provoking novels rather than the tried and true.

51jSMPqBXxL._BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX324_SY324_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA346_SH20_OU01_
Credit Amazon

In an effort to catch up, I read “Pride & Prejudice” by Jane Austen.

If you’ve never read it or seen the movie (like me) you may be in for a shock. I laughed on the first page when I totally expected to hate it. And three chapters in, I wasn’t bored.

This is not a book you can read while distracted.  The flowery language and excessive commas and clauses make this book… heavy. (Sookie Stackhouse she ain’t.) However, I’m glad I read it.

I hate to admit that I do not have a crush on Mr. Darcy as so many of the fans of this book do. Maybe I am too jaded to be in love with arrogance (even if he works on his issues) or to feel as though Elizabeth was too proud.

Oh well. I have enough fictional boyfriends.

(Said no bookworm ever.)

Leave a Reply

